Transition énergétique Québec

Frequently asked questions

Charging stations at home

In the province of Québec, the Building Code requires that all electrical work be carried out by an electrical contractor with a licence Ce lien ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre. from Régie du bâtiment du Québec.

1. Can I install a charging station before I take possession of my vehicle?

You can buy and install an eligible charging station before you take possession of your vehicle, but you must wait until you take possession of the vehicle before submitting your rebate application to the program manager.

2. Are all charging stations eligible for a rebate?

The list of home charging stations that qualify for government rebates has been posted on this website since November 2018. It is possible to ask for models to be added to the list, provided they have been certified by a recognized authority.
The list can be found in the Charging station rebate section.

3. How much does it cost on average to purchase and install a charging station?

Generally speaking, it costs $1,500 for the purchase and installation of the charging station.

The price for a 240V charging station can vary between $600 and $1,300 (before taxes). Charging stations can be purchased from a dealer, a distributor, a superstore or directly from the manufacturer.

Installation costs can range from $400 to $1,100 (before taxes). These costs may be higher if you need to upgrade your electrical panel or run underground cables.

In Québec, the Building Code requires all electrical work to be carried out by an electrical contractor. However, you may not need to carry out any installation work if your home is already equipped with a 240V electrical outlet that complies with current regulations

4. What information must appear on my charging station invoice?

The invoice or proof of purchase for the charging station must list the following information:

  • Date of the transaction
  • Name of the supplier or name of the supplier's company and contact information
  • Detailed description of the items included in the transaction
  • The amount for each item included in the transaction as well as the final amount of the transaction (including all applicable taxes and fees)

    If you made an online purchase, the information may be scattered throughout several documents. Make sure you attach all required documents to your rebate application.

5. What is the deadline for submitting a rebate application?

It is recommended that the rebate application be submitted as soon as the charging station has been installed.

To be eligible for a rebate, the home charging station must be purchased and installed no later than December 31, 2020. The dates indicated on the purchase invoice and the invoice for the installation work must not, therefore, exceed that date. Applicants can submit their rebate applications with all of the supporting and other documents after that date. The program will end no later than March 31, 2021 or once the available funds are exhausted.

6. Was the rebate program modified on April 1, 2017?

Yes. It is now possible for successive owners of a given eligible vehicle to file a rebate application for the purchase and installation of a home charging station. The applicant’s name and the address at which the charging station is installed must be different from the previous applications linked to the vehicle.

7. I bought a used electric vehicle. Can I take advantage of the rebate for a charging station?

Yes. Since April 1, 2017, individuals who purchase a used electric vehicle can apply for a rebate for the purchase and installation of a home charging station. This applies to the owners or lessees of an all-electric vehicle, a plug-in hybrid vehicle or an electric motorcycle.

The applicant’s name and the address at which the charging station is installed must be different from the previous applications linked to the vehicle.

8. There is no charging station where I work. How can I convince my employer to offer this service?

Since February 2014, companies, municipalities and organizations can receive a rebate for the installation of one or several charging stations at the workplace. Companies are not required to have electric vehicles in their car fleet to take advantage of this rebate.

The charging station may be used by employees to recharge their personal vehicles. You will find more information on this program in the Rebate for a charging station at work section (in French only).

Transition énergétique Québec

FAQ

Bornes de recharge à domicile

Au Québec, le Code de construction exige que les travaux d’électricité soient réalisés par un entrepreneur électricien détenant une licence  de la Régie du bâtiment du Québec. 

1. Est-ce que je peux faire installer ma borne de recharge avant d'avoir mon véhicule?

Vous pouvez faire l'achat et l'installation d'une borne de recharge admissible avant de prendre possession de votre véhicule. Vous devez toutefois attendre d'avoir pris possession du véhicule avant de pouvoir soumettre une demande de remboursement au gestionnaire du programme.

2. Est-ce que toutes les bornes de recharge peuvent faire l'objet d'un remboursement?

Depuis novembre 2018, nous diffusons la liste des bornes de recharge à domicile admissibles au remboursement gouvernemental. Il est également possible de faire ajouter un modèle à cette liste s’il est certifié par un organisme reconnu.

Consultez la section Bornes de recharge admissibles pour consulter la liste.

3. Quel est le coût moyen pour l'achat et l'installation d’une borne de recharge?

En moyenne, il en coûte 1 500 $ pour la borne et son installation.

Le coût d'achat d'une borne de 240 volts peut varier de 600 $ à 1 300 $ (avant taxes). Une borne de recharge peut être achetée auprès d’un concessionnaire, chez un distributeur, un magasin à grande surface ou directement auprès d’un manufacturier.

Les coûts d’installation d’une borne peuvent varier de 400 $ à 1 100 $ (avant taxes). Si vous devez changer le panneau de distribution électrique ou enfouir le câblage, il est possible que les coûts fluctuent.

Au Québec, les travaux d’installation d’une infrastructure d’alimentation électrique doivent être effectués par un entrepreneur électricien. Si votre habitation dispose déjà d’une prise électrique extérieure de 240 V conforme à la réglementation en vigueur, vous pourriez ne pas avoir à faire faire de travaux d’installation.

4. Quelle information doit se trouver sur ma facture d’achat de borne?

La facture ou la preuve d’achat de la borne de recharge doit contenir les renseignements suivants :

  • La date de la transaction
  • Le nom ou la raison sociale du fournisseur ainsi que ses coordonnées
  • La description détaillée des articles faisant l’objet de la transaction
  • Le montant de chaque article faisant l’objet de la transaction ainsi que le montant final de la transaction (y compris les taxes et autres frais applicables).

Si vous avez effectué votre achat sur Internet, il est possible que ces renseignements soient répartis sur plusieurs documents : pensez à joindre à votre demande de remboursement tous les documents requis.

5. Quelle est la date limite pour soumettre une demande de remboursement?

Il est recommandé de déposer sa demande de remboursement dès que les travaux d’installation de la borne sont terminés.

Pour être admissible à un remboursement, la borne de recharge à domicile doit être acquise et installée au plus tard le 31 décembre 2020. Les dates indiquées sur la facture d’achat et sur la facture des travaux d’installation ne doivent donc pas dépasser cette date. Les demandeurs pourront déposer leur demande de remboursement avec tous les documents et pièces justificatives après cette date. Le programme prendra fin au plus tard le 31 mars 2021 ou à l’épuisement des fonds disponibles.

6. Est-ce que les conditions de remboursement ont été modifiées le 1er avril 2017?

Oui, il est maintenant possible que les propriétaires successifs d’un même véhicule admissible fassent une demande de remboursement pour l’achat et l’installation d’une borne de recharge à usage domestique. Le nom du demandeur et l’adresse d’installation de la borne de recharge doivent être différents des précédentes demandes associées à ce véhicule.

7. J’ai fait l’acquisition d’un véhicule électrique d’occasion; est-ce que je peux bénéficier du remboursement pour une borne de recharge?

Oui, depuis le 1er avril 2017, les détenteurs d’un véhicule électrique acquis d’occasion peuvent faire une demande de remboursement pour l’achat et l’installation d’une borne de recharge à domicile. Cela s’applique aux propriétaires ou aux locataires d’un véhicule entièrement électrique, d’un véhicule hybride rechargeable ou d’une motocyclette électrique.

Le nom du demandeur et l’adresse d’installation de la borne doivent être différents des demandes précédentes associées à ce véhicule.

8. Il n’y a pas de borne de recharge sur mon lieu de travail. Que puis-je faire pour convaincre mon employeur d’offrir ce service?

Depuis février 2014, une entreprise, une municipalité ou un organisme peut bénéficier d’un remboursement pour l’installation d’une ou de plusieurs bornes de recharge en milieu de travail. Il n’est pas nécessaire que l’entreprise dispose déjà de véhicules électriques dans son parc de véhicules pour en bénéficier. La borne peut servir aux employés pour la recharge de leur véhicule personnel. Vous pouvez vous renseigner sur ce programme en consultant la section Remboursement pour une borne au travail.