Transition énergétique Québec

Frequently asked questions

Purchase or Lease Rebate for a Used Vehicle

1. When submitting my rebate application for a used vehicle, must I provide proof that the vehicle's original warranty is honoured in Quebec?

No. You don’t have to provide proof of the original warranty for the used car you are considering purchasing or that you have just purchased. We have made sure that all the models on the list of Eligible used vehicles are covered by an original warranty honoured in Québec.

2. What type of inspection should be made on the vehicle?

An inspection is required to evaluate the residual capacity of the battery with respect to the initial capacity. Proof of this inspection must be attached to the rebate application.

The certificate and the SAAQ mechanical inspection report are not supporting documents required when applying to participate in the program.

3. Which used vehicle models are eligible?

You can consult the full list of eligible used vehicles.
The list is updated regularly and adheres to the conditions governing the program:

  • the vehicle must be all-electric;
  • the price of a new vehicle similar to the used vehicle (same model and version) must be less than $125 000;
  • the vehicle must be three or four years old and the age is established according to the model year of the vehicle in relation to the date of registration in the applicant's name;
  • the vehicle must be covered by the new vehicle warranty honoured in Québec, including the coverage that applies to the battery.

The vehicle must also comply with other conditions at the time of the transaction.

4. What is the deadline for obtaining the used vehicle rebate?

December 31, 2020, is the deadline for registering an eligible vehicle under the Roulez vert program. March 31, 2021, is the deadline for sending the participation application to Transition énergétique Québec.

5. Must I personally submit my rebate application?

Your car dealer can fill out the application for you and immediately apply the rebate when you purchase your used vehicle.

You will have to sign a transfer of rights form for the government rebate for a used vehicle.

If your dealer does not offer you this possibility, make sure that the vehicle you purchased is eligible under the conditions of the program, then use the online services to send us your rebate application. You may mail us your application if you prefer.

6. Can I lease my used vehicle?

Leased used vehicles have not been eligible under the program since April 18, 2019.

7. In short, what conditions must be observed to obtain a rebate?

Here is a summary of the conditions in effect since April 18, 2019.

To be eligible for the rebate, used vehicles must meet the following conditions:

  • Be included on the list of eligible used vehicles, that is, be an all-electric vehicle and be three or four years old and be covered by the original new vehicle warranty honoured in Québec, including the coverage that applies to the battery
  • Have been purchased from a car dealer that maintains an establishment in Québec
  • Be registered for the first time in Québec at the time of the transaction
  • Be inspected to evaluate the residual capacity of the battery with respect to the initial capacity

8. What conditions must be observed to obtain a rebate for an used vehicle registered before April 18, 2019?

Attention! The following conditions only apply to used vehicles who where registered between April 1, 2017 and April 17, 2019.

Warranty

If the used vehicle was registered between April 1, 2017, and April 17, 2019, there should be complete warranty coverage for 3 years or 40,000 km, whichever comes first.The warranty must cover the entire vehicle and not just some components. There is no obligation for this warranty to be specific to electric vehicles.

In general, a new warranty covering a used vehicle must be purchased. The price will vary according to different criteria, such as the kilometrage at the time of purchase and conditions in the event of a claim. For example, it is reasonable to disburse between $1000 and $2000 (before taxes) for this warranty.

However, a new vehicle warranty covering the entire vehicle may be sufficient to meet this condition, in whole or in part, based on the remaining duration of the warranty.

Type of inspection

If the used vehicle was registered between April 1, 2017, and April 17, 2019, in addition to the mechanical inspection required by the SAAQ, an additional inspection must be carried out. The content of the inspection is subject to no particular requirement. However, it is recommended that the vehicle be inspected as completely as possible, including the state of the battery, as is the case with car manufacturers prior to certifying a vehicle.

The certificate and the SAAQ mechanical inspection report are not supporting documents required when applying to participate in the program.

Why are an inspection, certification and warranty covering the entire vehicle for 3 years or 40,000 km required?

The purpose of the inspection and certification of the vehicle is to ensure that the vehicle is in good condition at the time of the transaction. The dealer must obtain this through a car manufacturer certification program or a signed letter indicating that the dealer is an independent dealer.

When a used vehicle is imported to Québec, the mechanical inspection required by the SAAQ is a visual inspection of the vehicle’s main components to ensure road worthiness and the mechanical fitness of vehicles for circulation on roadways in Québec. Some components are not targeted by this inspection. Indeed, the SAAQ recommends that the vehicle undergo a mechanical inspection to assess its mechanical state in general.

The warranty covering the entire vehicle is to ensure that the vehicle is in good condition at the time of the transaction and remains so for a period of at least 3 years or 40,000 km. The car manufacturer’s warranty on the battery is necessary but not sufficient alone to maintain the vehicle in a good state of operation.

Transition énergétique Québec

FAQ

Rabais pour un véhicule électrique d’occasion

1. Est-ce que je dois fournir une preuve que la garantie d’origine du véhicule est honorée au Québec?

Non, vous n’avez pas à fournir de preuve de garantie d’origine pour le véhicule d’occasion que vous envisagez ou que vous venez d’acheter. Nous nous sommes assuré que tous les modèles qui sont sur la liste des véhicules d’occasion admissibles sont couverts par une garantie d’origine honorée au Québec.

2. Quel type d’inspection doit être fait sur le véhicule?

Une inspection est exigée afin d’évaluer la capacité résiduelle de la batterie  du véhicule d’occasion par rapport à sa capacité initiale. Une preuve de cette inspection doit être jointe à la demande de rabais.

Le certificat et le rapport de vérification mécanique de la SAAQ ne sont pas des pièces justificatives requises lors du dépôt d’une demande de participation au programme.

3. Quels sont les modèles de véhicules d’occasion admissibles?

Vous pouvez consulter la liste complète des véhicules d’occasion admissibles.
Cette liste régulièrement mise à jour, respecte les conditions qui ont été fixées pour le programme :

  • Le véhicule doit être entièrement électrique.
  • Le prix d’un véhicule neuf semblable au véhicule d’occasion (même modèle et version) doit être inférieur à 125 000 $.
  • Le véhicule doit être âgé de trois ou quatre ans et l’âge est établi selon l’année modèle du véhicule par rapport à la date d’immatriculation au nom du demandeur;
  • Les véhicule doit être pourvu d’une garantie pour véhicule neuf d’origine honorée au Québec, incluant les critères applicables à la batterie.

Le véhicule doit également respecter les conditions relatives à la transaction.

4. Quelle est la date limite pour bénéficier d’un rabais pour un véhicule d’occasion?

Le 31 décembre 2020 est la date limite pour immatriculer un véhicule admissible dans le cadre du programme Roulez vert, et le 31 mars 2021 est la date limite pour transmettre sa demande de participation à Transition énergétique Québec.

5. Est-ce que je dois faire moi-même ma demande de rabais?

Votre concessionnaire automobile peut remplir cette demande pour vous et appliquer immédiatement le rabais au moment de la transaction pour votre véhicule d’occasion. Vous aurez à signer le formulaire de cession de droits du rabais gouvernemental pour véhicule d’occasion.

Si votre concessionnaire ne vous offre pas cette possibilité, vérifiez que le véhicule acquis est bien admissible aux conditions du programme, puis utilisez les services en ligne pour nous transmettre votre demande de rabais. Il est aussi toujours possible de présenter une demande par la poste.

6. Est-ce que je peux louer mon véhicule d’occasion?

Les véhicules d’occasion loués ne sont plus admissibles au programme depuis le 18 avril 2019.

7. En résumé, quelles sont les conditions à respecter pour obtenir un rabais?

Voici un résumé des conditions en vigueur depuis le 18 avril 2019.

Pour être admissible au rabais, le véhicule d'occasion immatriculé doit respecter les conditions suivantes :

  • Faire partie de la liste des véhicules d'occasion admissibles, c'est-à-dire être entièrement électrique et âgé de trois ou quatre ans et être pourvu d’une garantie pour véhicule neuf d’origine honorée au Québec, incluant les critères applicables à la batterie;
  • Être acheté auprès d'un concessionnaire automobile ayant un établissement au Québec;
  • Être immatriculé pour la première fois au Québec lors de la transaction;
  • Être inspecté afin d’évaluer la capacité résiduelle de la batterie par rapport à la capacité initiale.

8. Quelles étaient les conditions du programme pour les véhicules immatriculés avant le 18 avril 2019?

Attention, vous devez respecter les conditions du programme ci-dessous uniquement si vous avez immatriculé votre véhicule d’occasion entre le 1er avril 2017 et le 17 avril 2019.

Garantie requise

Si le véhicule d’occasion a été immatriculé entre le 1er avril 2017 et le 17 avril 2019, une garantie complète du véhicule doit être en vigueur pour 3 ans ou 40 000 km selon le premier des deux événements à survenir. La garantie doit donc couvrir l’ensemble du véhicule et non quelques composants seulement. Il n’y a pas d’obligation pour que cette garantie soit spécifique aux véhicules électriques.

Généralement, une nouvelle garantie pour véhicule d’occasion doit être achetée. Le prix varie selon différents critères, dont le kilométrage du véhicule au moment de la transaction et les conditions en cas de réclamation. À titre indicatif seulement, il peut être raisonnable de débourser entre 1 000 et 2 000 $ (avant taxes) pour cette garantie.

Toutefois, une garantie pour véhicule neuf qui couvre l’ensemble du véhicule peut être suffisante pour répondre à cette condition, en tout ou en partie, selon la durée restante de la garantie.

Type d’inspection

Si le véhicule d’occasion est immatriculé entre le 1er avril 2017 et le 17 avril 2019, une inspection additionnelle à la vérification mécanique exigée par la SAAQ doit être effectuée. Il n’y a pas d’exigence particulière sur le contenu de l’inspection. Il est néanmoins recommandé de soumettre le véhicule à une inspection la plus complète possible, ce qui comprend l’état de la batterie, comme le font les constructeurs automobiles avant de certifier un véhicule.

Le certificat et le rapport de vérification mécanique de la SAAQ ne sont pas des pièces justificatives requises lors du dépôt d’une demande de participation au programme.

Pourquoi exigeait-on une inspection, une certification et une garantie sur l’ensemble du véhicule de 3 ans ou 40 000 km?

L’inspection et la certification du véhicule ont pour but de s’assurer que le véhicule est en bon état au moment de la transaction. Un engagement à cet effet est recherché de la part du concessionnaire, que ce soit par un programme de certification du constructeur automobile ou une lettre signée s’il s’agit d’un concessionnaire indépendant.

La vérification mécanique exigée par la SAAQ lors de l’importation de tout véhicule d’occasion au Québec est une inspection visuelle des principales composantes du véhicule afin de s'assurer, sur le plan de la sécurité routière, du bon état mécanique des véhicules qui circulent sur les routes du Québec. Certains éléments ne sont pas visés par cette inspection. D’ailleurs, la SAAQ recommande de soumettre également le véhicule à une inspection mécanique pour connaître l’état mécanique général du véhicule.

La garantie sur l’ensemble du véhicule a pour but de s’assurer de maintenir le bon état du véhicule lors de la transaction pendant une période d’au moins 3 ans ou 40 000 km. La garantie du constructeur sur la batterie est nécessaire mais pas suffisante à elle seule pour maintenir le véhicule dans un bon état de fonctionnement.